top of page
Copy of Save the Date HLF (4).png

Event Programme

Monday 10 June

15:30 Registration 

16:00 Welcome

  • Annette Schavan, Chair Executive Board; Hertie Foundation (tbc) 

  • Cornelia Woll, President Hertie School 


16:20 - 18:00 Polarization and the Decay of Political Order

Moderated by Andrea Römmele, Hertie School

  • Francis Fukuyama, Professor at Stanford University

  • Jens Spahn, Member of German Parliament

  • Catherine de Vries, Professor Bocconi Unversity

Tuesday 11 June

9:00 - 9:30 Registration & Light Breakfast

9:30 - 11:00 Autonomy in a Fragmented World

Moderated by Cornelia Woll, Hertie School

  • Boris Pistorius, German Minister of Defense

  • Christoph Heusgen, Chairman of the Munich Security Conference 

  • Federica Mogherini, President College of Europe


11:00 - 11:30 Coffee Break 

11:30 - 12:30 Student/Leaders Dialogue

The laureates of the student essay competition will present their winning ideas and discuss them with a panel of experts, including Norbert Röttgen, Member of the German Bundestag and Francis Fukuyama, Professor of Political Science; Stanford University. The discussion will be moderated byThurid Hustedt, Dean of Graduate Programmes; Hertie School.

12:30 - 14:00 Lunch Break

14:00 -15:30 Higher Education and Research in Hard Times

Moderated by Mark Hallerberg, Hertie School

  • Shalini Randeria, President, Central European University

  • Tymofiy Mylovanov, President, Kyiv School of Economics (tbc) 

  • Larry Kramer, President and Vice-Chancellor; London School of Economics and Political Science (tbc) 

  • Joseph H. H. Weiler, Professor of Law; New York University 

15:30 - 16:00 Coffee Break


16:00 – 17:00 Conferment of the third Henrik Enderlein Prize

Hosted at the Hertie School, jointly conferred and organized by the German and French Foreign Offices, Sciences Po and Hertie School

  •  Anna Lührmann, Minister of State for Europe and Climate Action; German Federal Foreign Office

  • Francois Delattre, French Ambassador to Germany (tbc) 

  • Cornelia Woll, President of the Jury

18:00 - 19:00 Closing Reception

bottom of page